“She’s actual size to me.”

Title credit to They Might Be Giants.
Yesterday was an especially good Sabbath. Even though I had to stay home from Church today, I got to spend time one-on-one with Max.  And he got to play with his sister’s cooking toys without being clobbered.  Win-win all around.  After Church, Laura pounced on me telling me all about what happened in her Primary class and how she “actually sang, Mommy!”  We’ve been working on that, you see.  As loud and rambunctious as she is at home, she can be surprisingly shy at Church.  Weird, I tell ya.

After family nap time, I made dinner (a post about that next) while Handsome, Laura & Max all sat around the table with clay.  The kids had modeling clay.  Handsome had real clay to make little ‘mockettes’ for sculpture class (he’s a graphic design major, by the way).  Man, they had a BLAST!  Handsome got an elephant and a platypus made that he’s happy with.  And, don’t tell him, but they’re adorable!  I could just squeeze them!

But, I won’t.  He’d kill me.

So, while I avoided impending death for squeezing, Laura carefully watched her daddy’s every move.  She was constantly quizzing him:  “What are you making, daddy?  How do I make one?  I know, I’ll make a werewolf like you!”  Yes, somehow she’s learned about werewolves.  I’m not really sure how that happened.

I’m sure it has nothing to do with watching us play Zelda.

Really!

Quick fact:  I only figured out that Zelda referred to the princess, not the guy in green, after we bought our game a couple of years ago.  Yeah, guess who didn’t have a Nintendo much in her home as a kid.  But we had an Atari!

Anyways, Laura’s creations were actually pretty life-like.  That is, if you don’t mind your wolves looking like sloths.  She created a capital city for the werewolves, a handsome husband and wife duo, and a tie-dyed snowman.  Very productive for a 5-year-old on a lazy Sunday afternoon.

Max initially had trouble with the modeling clay.  He hadn’t had much experience with play dough before now.  But, after watching his dad and sister, he went quickly from eating it to stabbing it with a table knife to throwing it across the room.  Progress, hmm?  Pictures:

After our delicious dinner, we played some more family games and talked about our Savior.  I thought to myself, “So this is what it’s like to be a family without parents going to school.”  I think we’re going to make a greater effort to safeguard our Sundays for family time.  It’s really the one day of the week we’re not stressing over school.

And what a wonderful beginning to our week.  Have a great Monday!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. kadusey says:

    Lovely new blog! I am looking forward to reading it. And your kids are looking adorable as always. 🙂

    1. Hello! ~waves~ Thanks! They must get it from their imaginary aunt. 🙂

Leave a Reply

