I’m weird, how are you?

I know many people my age think of the domestic arts in terms of sweet, gray-haired old ladies.  When I was a single 20something, I felt the same way. If there was to be an activity with our ladies church group (Relief Society), I prayed it would not be another class on making bread or tying quilts.  And I had a perfect horror that the near-mythical canning class would rear its ugly head.  (Remember, I had not embraced my domesticity yet.  I was still an uncultured swine.)

I would like to counter the stereotypes now.

I’m now a late 20something.  I love domestic pursuits–cooking, baking, canning, hand sewing.  I’m very interested in food storage and emergency preparedness.  I’ve just started homeschooling my daughter, and my son wears cloth diapers.  I simply adore old movies and older fashions in clothing.  I do wish I had enough skirts to wear one every day.  I love celtic music and my most-listened-to cds include Harry Chapin, Beach Boys, musicals, and Chant.  I could be thought of as dull and dry when someone sees me at the bookstore buying a book on Rome or the Crusades (recent purchases).  Oh, I do love Rome…

But I am also an unabashed geek.  Here’s a laundry list of my favorite and current obsessions:

I grew up on Star Wars, the originals.  They are some of the best movies ever.  In fact, one of the main reasons we bought a Wii was because, at the time, Force Unleashed was only being made for consoles (not PCs). It’s embarrassing how excited we were to wield a lightsaber and control our force powers…

I was converted to Star Trek by my Trekker husband and discovered there was actually a difference between Trekkie and Trekker.  We watched Star Trek so much when my daughter was younger that she could repeat what came after “Space…” and tried to follow the Enterprise when it sailed off the screen. Just early education on the solar system, right?

I also love Stargate (the first series), Firefly (does anyone Not love that series), and some Dr. Who.  Yah, I know, geeky.

In college I discovered anime & manga.  I still watch and read when time & money allow.  My favorites include Fruits Basket, Inuyasha, Witch Hunter Robin, and Time of Eve.  I’m just started watching Eikoku Koi Monogatari Emma and Darker Than Black.  Laura’s favorite movie is My Neighbor Totoro and music from Inuyasha or Princess Mononoke is instantly soporific for both children.  I love working on schoolwork to music from Cowboy Bebop.  And I love to get pocky at the grocery store right along with my milk and eggs.

I never grow tired of The Lord of the Rings trilogy, and think Peter Jackson is a genius for his movie versions.  I also enjoy a good Star Wars novel.  When I read fiction, it’s almost always from the fantasy or sci-fi section.  Some authors I keep coming back to are Ann McCaffrey, Mercedes Lackey, Sharan Newman, Kristen Britain, and sometimes Timothy Zahn.

I like celtic rock, and some punk rock.  My media player has Something Corporate, They Might Be Giants, Cake, Death Cab for Cutie, and Evanescence in it.  A caveat about these groups:  I do not necessarily recommend all of their music.  I pick and choose the non-offensive songs that I enjoy.  Don’t want my sensitive ears to melt.  This music is especially good to listen to while cooking.

I’m not trying to make myself out to be an uber-geek.  Don’t worry, I have friends who qualify for that far better than I.  But sometimes it makes me laugh how divergent my interests are.  Homemaker vs. Geek.  Who knew the two polar opposites could coexist without severe bludgeoning & maiming?

Fortunately, I am not the only one bucking traditional images.  You can find a multitude of blogs that combine domestic arts with a modern sensibility.  Interestingly enough, a large number of these sites are written by people (married AND single) in their 20s and 30s.  There are probably more from that age group than from the 70-year-old-lady-who-knits-and-cans-peaches group.

Actually, I canned peaches this past year.

Just saying.

Leave a Reply

