“You can’t take the sky from me”


I have a more than a fondness for NASA.  I grew up with stories of man going to the moon and my daddy helped launch Titan rockets into space.  When we lived in Florida, we were able to see rocket and shuttle launches regularly.  We made a big deal of it, with tailgates and such.  As weird as it might sound, it was so much fun waiting in the freezing pre-dawn for that flash of light and following the trail of smoke and fire up to the heavens.

I think there was more of a national interest and pride in the space program back then.  Kids still wanted to be astronauts when they were big people.  My brothers even passed a NASA sleepsuit down among them.  In memory of that, the first item of baby clothing I ever bought was an infant sleepsuit much like it.  Both kids have worn it so far. It just makes my heart go pitter-patter.

Growing up with this background and as a military brat, I was understandably upset when I heard that  our shuttles were going to be retired soon.  I was even more upset when I discovered that President Obama was scrapping current plans to send Americans back to the moon. Now, one can debate the various policies of this or the previous administration from here to heaven’s gate.  Personally, I think this particular decision of this particular administration is decidedly wrong-headed.  It also shows a lack of knowledge of what going out into space and to the moon has done for this nation in the past.  Achieving what was once impossible is heady stuff, and it helped our nation’s morale tremendously.  I think it can do the same now regardless of whether we’re flying in government or private shuttles.

And, as I show my children videos of shuttle launches, I see the wonder on their faces and in their eyes.  They begin to dream of doing the impossible.  Every time she sees a launch, Laura emphatically declares she wants to be an astronaut.  I tell her that maybe someday she will be.

I don’t think we, as human beings and children of God, can be restrained from reaching higher.  We can, and will, reach that moon again.  Perhaps we will also visit other planets.  I hope I’m here when we do.

The main title lyrics for the show Firefly express what I’m trying to say:

Take my love

Take my land

Take me where I cannot stand

I don’t care

I’m still free

You can’t take the sky from me

Take me out to the black

Tell ’em I ain’t coming back

Burn the land

Boil the sea

You can’t take the sky from me

Have no place I can be

Since I found Serenity (the eponymous spaceship of the series)

You can’t take the sky from me

Caveat:  Firefly and it’s movie, Serenity, are not for the faint of heart.  Do your research before you decide to watch and make sure it’s for you.  Don’t say I didn’t warn you.  But I think it’s a wonderful series.  Space cowboys never get old.

p.s. this photo, along with other beautiful astronaut photography, can be found at The Gateway to Astronaut Photography of Earth.

p.p.s.  As I edited this, my kids were geeking out over a video about astronauts from the library.  I love brainwashing!  😉

2 Comments Add yours

  1. This was an amazing post. I completely agree!

  2. Amanda says:

    Sadly, just another reason that I dont like Obama. I love that not only do you love NASA, but that you are instilling a love for it in your kids… when was the last time you (anyone) heard, “I wanna be an astronaut mommy?” Do kids even know what an astronaut is these days???

    Thank goodness for YOU!!

    Blessings-
    Amanda

Leave a Reply

