Aaaaahhh….

Can you hear that?  That is the sound of the end of a semester.  The exams are done, the prayers over the tests and papers have been said, and you’re just waiting for grades.  I’m feeling particularly relaxed about the end of this semester because I have decided what I’m going to do with my life.  Not graduate!

Well, that would be a trifle misleading.  When I returned to college before Max was born, I was determined to finish the degree I had been working on as a junior at Brigham Young University.  However, I did not account for the fact that its sister college here in Idaho was backward enough to not have my degree.  Not only did they not have a Latin major, but they barely have two basic classes in Latin.  It’s criminal, I tell ya!

So, with the kids getting older. Laura officially starting a schedule with homeschooling this Fall, the new one coming, and me getting plain burned out trying to handle it all, I am lowering my expectations.  After a year and a half of agonizing I have decided to cut out with an associate’s degree.  And, strangely, I’m okay with that.  Given all the fussing I’ve been doing over this (ask Handsome), I feel quite peaceful and certain that this is the right decision for me, my husband, and the children.  I’m going to take a few more semesters of fun classes (cooking and sewing, yay!) and then I’m putting a bachelor’s degree on hold until I’m old and gray.  Maybe then I’ll have the chance to go back and become the Latin teacher I always wanted to be.  Or I’ll go to culinary school.  I have to have something to keep me busy after the kids are gone after all.

We’re on break now for 7 weeks and I plan to put that time to good use.  I can focus on the garden more, organize all the clutter and stuff in our house, pull the baby things our of storage, finalize Laura’s school schedule, start packing to move into a 3-bedroom in our complex (an answer to prayers!), and cook and sew.  And can and find the perfect homemade whole wheat sandwich bread recipe.  I was able to do some canning the other day:  some delicious berry jam with  a secret ingredient.  More on that in another post.

I know I left a promise dangling to write about a post that claimed breastfeeding could lead to divorce.  I’m still working on it.  I am attempting to keep my strong opinions from coming out the wrong way and make the most cogent argument possible.  It’ll probably be posted by the end of the week.  And I’m putting together a post soon with pictures from our trip to the zoo!  But don’t trust me, my mind’s like a sieve these days.  ADD and pregnancy brain unite!

And, in case anyone actually read down this far, a treat:  our baby is officially a Boy!  Now we just have to figure our names…Any suggestions?

Also, gratuitous pictures from our Fourth of July craft:  tri-cornered hats!

Leave a Reply

