“Don’t worry, she’ll hold together!”

“Steady, baby, hold together…”

All I can say is it’s a good thing I was granted a medical deferment for  this semester.  Since I dropped my classes, it has been one thing after another.  Most of those things are people emptying their guts into any and all vessels in the house.  I know.  Gross, right?

And every time we think we’re good, our mischievous Max decides that too much peace and quiet is a bad thing.  Apparently keeping us on our toes involves said gut-hurling at odd hours of the night.  Personally, I think he does it for the undivided attention and movie days that inevitably follow.  Tricky little monster.

And every time I start envying the fact that other (read: normal) people send their older (willful, insolent, annoying) children out of the house for a few hours every day, I am reminded that we are spared a LOT of hassle by homeschooling.  When we’re sick, we can all hunker down and weather the storm without missing any schoolwork at all.  We can also count Schoolhouse Rock as schooling, which makes me feel a little better on sick days.  Laura is also breezing through her math and reading, so I’m free to increase the difficulty of her schoolwork to match.  And, seriously, aren’t you all just a wee bit jealous that we get to read Anne of Green Gables for reading practice.  And she just got a real microscope for her birthday.  How many kindergartners get to study slides?  She’s all fired up about the various things around the house she can look at up close.  Okay, I’ll stop being all annoying and boastful.  But this is my silver lining right now.  Allow me a moment to enjoy it, please.

So, all said, we’re still plugging along with about 7 weeks left until baby comes.  Now we just have to figure out a name.

Red 5, standing by.

P.S. I just showed the original Star Wars to Max.  Instead of being awed by the sheer awesomeness of it all and begging for V and VI, he had the gall to demand more Batman cartoons.  I don’t know whether to be annoyed or pleased with his partial good taste.  Well, at least he’s not watching Spongebob Squarepants.  Ugh.

Leave a Reply

